Home Ministry Sanctions Three More NIA Branches

  • The Ministry of Home Affairs has sanctioned three additional branches of the National Investigation Agency (NIA) at Imphal, Ranchi and Chennai.
  • The branches will be in addition to nine NIA branches located at Guwahati, Mumbai, Jammu, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Kochi, Lucknow, Raipur and Chandigarh, besides the specialised units at the federal anti-terror agency’s headquarters in Delhi.
  • “This decision will help in ensuring quick response to any emergent situation in the States concerned by the premier anti-terror investigation agency. 
  • It will strengthen the NIA’s capability in investigation of terrorism-related cases and other national security related matters. It will also facilitate timely collection of crucial information and evidence.